Julian Rachlin /violin, conductor/ and Sarah McElravy /viola/, South Czech Philharmonic

Concert venue: Castle Riding Hall

Friday, 28 July 2017 – 7:30PM  Castle Riding HallThe concert is dedicated to the members of the IMF Český Krumlov Friends Club

Julian Rachlin (Lithuania) – violin, conductor
Sarah McElravy (Canada) – viola
South Czech Philharmonic (Czech Republic)



Koupit vstupenky


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola and Orchestra in E-flat major K. 364
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): Symphony No. 35 “Haffner” in D major K. 385


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827): Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61

About artists

Julian Rachlin is one of the most exciting and respected violinists of our time. In the first three decades of his career, he has established close relationships with many of the most prestigious conductors and orchestras. As a notable conductor, Mr. Rachlin currently serves his second season as Principal Guest Conductor of the Royal Northern Sinfonia. This coming August, he will lead the “Julian Rachlin & Friends Festival” in Palma de Mallorca. Highlights of Mr. Rachlin’s 2016/17 season include engagements with the Munich Philharmonic and Zubin Mehta, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic and Yuri Temirkanov, the Israel Philharmonic and Gianandrea Noseda, the Philharmonia Orchestra and Jakub Hrůša, a North America tour with the China Philharmonic and Long Yu, and his return to the Edinburgh Festival with the La Scala Philharmonic Orchestra and Riccardo Chailly. Recently appointed Principal Guest Conductor of the Turku Philharmonic in Finland, a post he will assume in the 2017/18 season, he guest conducts, among others, the China Philharmonic, Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Luxembourg Philharmonic, English Chamber Orchestra and State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia. Born in Lithuania, Mr. Rachlin immigrated to Vienna in 1978. He studied violin with Boris Kuschnir at the Vienna Conservatory and with Pinchas Zukerman. After winning the “Young Musician of the Year” Award at the Eurovision Competition in 1988, he became the youngest soloist ever to play with the Vienna Philharmonic, debuting under Riccardo Muti. At the recommendation of Mariss Jansons, Mr. Rachlin studied conducting with Sophie Rachlin. Since September 1999, he is on the violin faculty at the Konservatorium Wien University. Also an accomplished viola player, his recordings for Sony Classical, Warner Classics and Deutsche Grammophon have been met with great acclaim. Mr. Rachlin, a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador, is committed to educational outreach and charity work. Julian Rachlin plays the 1704 “ex Liebig” Stradivari and a 1785 Lorenzo Storioni viola, on loan to him courtesy of the Dkfm. Angelika Prokopp Privatstiftung. His strings are kindly sponsored by Thomastik-Infeld.


Canadian violinist and violist, Sarah McElravy is enjoying an international career as soloist, recitalist and chamber musician. Acclaimed for her performances in Europe and North America, Ms. McElravy will appear this coming season with the Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra, Turku Philharmonic Orchestra, South Czech Philharmonic and the Royal Northern Sinfonia. Chamber music collaborations include Moscow’s Vivarte Festival, Bogota‘s ‘Romantic Russia’ Festival, the Julian Rachlin & Friends Music festival in Palma de Mallorca, and three projects at the Vienna Musikverein with Itamar Golan, Julian Rachlin, Nicolas Altstaedt, and Vilde Frang among others. In the 2016/17 season, Ms. McElravy performed the Penderecki Concerto Doppio with the Sinfonietta Cracowia and Krzysztof Penderecki, as well as chamber music concerts with Janine Jansen, Boris Brovtsyn, Mischa Maisky, Daniel Müller-Schott, Boris Andrianov and Alexander Buzlov. She founded the Chamber Music Society México and is a founding member of the award winning Linden String Quartet.  Ms. McElravy graduated from the Cleveland Institute of Music and subsequently completed a two-year graduate string-quartet-in-residence program at Yale University mentored by the Tokyo String Quartet. Ms. McElravy plays on an unknown Italian violin, ca. 1850, on loan to her courtesy of the Dkfm. Angelika Prokopp Privatstiftung in Vienna.


The South Czech Philharmonic was founded in 1981 in České Budějovice under the original name South Bohemia State Orchestra. Currently it has 37 members and continues to be the only professional philharmonic orchestra in the South Bohemian Region. Conductor Jaroslav Vodňanský stood at the birth of the orchestra and later was replaced in the position of chief conductor by Ondřej Kukal, Břetislav Novotný, Jaroslav Krček and Stanislav Vavřínek. Jan Talich has been the chief conductor since 2008. Besides the natural interpretation of music by classical composers and compositions suitable for smaller orchestras and a small concert hall, the orchestra increasingly follows the current trend of connecting genres, discovering new views on interpretation and presentation and systematically works on achieving ever-higher quality. Most of the musicians are young, ambitious, skilful and promising interpreters who really welcome any further opportunity to cooperate with leading conductors and soloists. The ambition of the Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra of South Bohemia is to maintain the interest of the current subscribers and at the same time focus on the younger audience and wider public to convince even those South Bohemians who have avoided classical music so far to come to their concerts. It surely has the capacity, direction and zest to achieve that.


Keep in touch

Follow the latest action at the International Music Festival Český Krumlov